3 Swaps That Can Help You Start Living A Zero Waste Lifestyle

As part of my attempt at living a more deliberate and intentional life, I have made three simple changes that have already improved my life, as well as contributing to reducing the amount of waste a create which would have been sent to sit in a landfill.

Recycling, reusing, and reducing are no longer considered choices that should be optional, but instead are a necessity for the future of this planets and its environment.

Living in a society in which everything is made for convenience, and ease of quick disposal, we have been conditioned into believing that this is a normal and sustainable way of life.  But it’s not.

The products we use, the bags, the packaging, and the waste we create is destroying our planet, but there are small things each and every one of us can do to make a change to that, and their simple enough that you won’t even notice the difference.

creating

As part of my attempt at living a more deliberate and intentional life, I have made three simple changes that have already improved my life, as well as contributing to reducing the amount of waste a create which would have been sent to sit in a landfill.

Reusable Water Bottle

bottle-1838772_1920

A reusable water bottle is great for many reasons:

  • Saving you money instead of buying disposable water bottles everyday
  • Reducing the use and production of plastic bottles
  • Encourages you to drink more water, keeping you hydrated through the day
  • Easy and free to refill in most places

I’ve been using a reusable water bottle for nearly two years now, and there are many great options available.  I’ve recently began using a metal water bottle that is not only plastic free, but also keeps my water cold and refreshing all day long.

Reusable Cotton Rounds

cotton-rounds

I’ve mentioned my swap from cotton face pads to reusable cotton rounds in a previous post, and they are a great swap for reducing the amount of waste I create, but have also been great for saving me money.

Before swapping to cotton rounds, twice a day I would use a disposable cotton pad to apply toner to my face, and at least one more at night to remove my makeup.  Three a day might not sound like a lot when you can buy a pack of 100 for £3.

But when you’re not thinking about the impact or the price of these disposable pads is easy to use more than you need and quickly get through an entire packet.

But for just a few pounds more than a pack of disposable pads, I upgraded to a pack of 10 reusable pads.  I know only use one pad per day, switching sides morning and night to apply toner, and use a different method to remove my makeup.

All I have to do every 10 days is stick them in a small delicates bag and throw them in the washing machine with the rest of my clothes and 40 minutes later they’re good as new!

Reusable Shopping Bag

ni7vnhndny0-beauty-cocktails-girltalk

I always carry with me a reusable, fold up tote bag.  It come sin handy if I’m popping to the shops, going to the library, or just making an unexpected purchase.

Disposable plastic bags that can not be recycled are destroying the oceans and taking up space in landfills forever.

Even though the UK charge on plastic bags, and the ban of plastic bags in some cities in the US and other countries around the world, has hugely reduced the amount of plastic bags being used, they are still a problem.

Plastic “bags for life” that are found at every till point in our supermarkets are just as damaging.  Once broken they can not be repaired, were as a cloth bag can be sewn up, and are overall stronger and more reliable for carrying your produce, or heavy library books.

If you want to save that extra bit of cash, you can even make your own.

 

 

26 thoughts on “3 Swaps That Can Help You Start Living A Zero Waste Lifestyle

  1. Okay, so the reusable bottle and bag I’ve got down already. But reusable cotton rounds?! Absolutely genius! I’ve honestly never come across the idea before. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. great tips – I think composting is also the best tip around but it does get frustrating when you are traveling and there appears to be no composter available. I notice in Ireland that everyone recycles their plastic bags and they are charged a euro a bag in the stores that keeps the waste down, wish every country would do this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It drives me crazy all the bottles I have floating around my house. I have a water bottle, but I also drink soda so they pile up. I think its interesting how people don’t think of soda as a usage of water, but I know in South Africa, there was a drought because all the water had been leased to Coca-Cola. Same thing in California- it was leased to Arrowhead.
    I try to always grab one of those reusable bags but you’re right; once they break they’re useless. I haven’t seen the reusable make up pads yet. Where can you buy them?

    Like

  4. Little changes eventually make all the difference. I’m trying to incorporate a more mindful and environment-friendly approach in my everyday life, so thank you for sharing these tips and spreading the word.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

