January Favourites

I admit it, January I slacked off.  Life took over and the time to write blogs quickly slipped away from me!

But February is here, and I’m back, ready to get back to posting weekly blogs.

To be honest I’m kinda glad that it’s February already.  January seemed to never end, and while it was a long and stressful month for me, there were a few things that helped it not seem so bad.

january

Health/Beauty

Neutrogena Visibly Clear 2-in1 Wash and Mask

img_1407

This time of year my skins tends to break out like crazy, and in an attempt to try and live a more zero-waste lifestyle, once I had used up my pot of disposable face scrub pads I had been using in place of actual face wash, I decided it was time to find a replacement that didn’t create as much waste.

While this face wash isn’t 100% zero-waste (the plastic tube) it has drastically reduced my daily waste amount, going from 2 pads per day to zero.

Even better it doubles as a face mask, reducing a second lot of packaging I would be wasting from a separate face mask.

Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner

img_1402

I discovered this toner while living in America, and made sure to purchase myself another bottle when I returned to the UK.

This toner is great!  It isn’t harsh on your skin, smells nice, and is great at fighting any blemishes or breakouts.

I love this stuff, and it lasts so long, even when used twice a day, making it great value for money.

Technology/Accessories

Marble Popsocket

img_1411

I love my Popsocket!

I received this as a gift for christmas and stuck it straight onto my phone case.

Not only does it add a bit of extra design to my phone, it also adds an extra bit of protection, making sure I don’t drop my phone – something I am well known to do.

These are also great for large smartphones, adding extra grip and making it easier to reach the whole of your screen.

Leather Macbook Case

img_1413

Another gift from christmas, this laptop case as made carrying around my laptop so much easier and stylish.

When I got my new macbook I knew I didn’t want a bulky case for it, but rather something light and sleek.

This case not only protects my macbook while in my bag, but can also by used as a surface to place it on when in use, and the fold even doubles as a mousepad.

TV/Film

THE OA – Netflix

When I started watching Stranger Thingslast year, I managed to watch the entire series in a day.

It was beautifully shot, nostalgic, and filled with suspense and mystery – everything I want from a TV show.

But since then, as have many people, I’ve struggled to find a show that can keep me occupied until series 2.  Until I watched The OA.

The OA was nothing what I expected, but everything I needed from a series, and more.

Seven years after blind Prairie Johnson goes missing, she reappears with her sight and a story that leaves her family, friends, and investigators with more questions than answers

When you watch it you become engrossed in the storytelling and the atmosphere, telling yourself after every episode “just one more and then I’ll got to bed.”

The ending is unpredictable, and you’ll be left wanting more.

Frequency – Netflix

I am a huge fan of the original Frequency film, and was skeptical at first to give the series a try.

But once I did I was hooked!

When the body of a victim of the Nightingale Killer is found 20 years after her death, police officer, Raimy Sullivan, discovers she can communicate into the past with her dad, the original officer on the case, and together they must work together to stop the killer in the past and the present.

If you’re a fan of time travel, multiple timelines, crime shows, and mystery then this show is a must watch.

Keeping my fingers crossed for a second series of this!

That Sugar Film – Amazon Prime

I love a good documentary, especially one that is about food, or more importantly, how bad the food we eat is for us.

Having exhausted the selection of such documentaries on Netflix, I turned to Amazon Prime and discovered this gem.

With cameos from Hugh Jackman and Stephen Fry, this film will leave you to want to throw out everything you did and didn’t know contained sugar.

Seinfeld – Amazon Prime

Now I am one of those people who instead of watching something brand new, I’ll 9 times out of 10 out on a series I’ve seen 20 times before.

My latest one is Seinfeld.

A show about nothing, Seinfeld was Friends before Friends was Friends.

And best of all there are 9 whole series for me to binge watch again and again and again.

Podcasts

lif-eaf/ter

img_1415

After binge listening to The Message last year I knew when series 2 came out that it was going to good.

lif-eaf/ter is filled with mystery, conspiracy, and science fiction, with great acting that completely draws you into the story.

Each episode is no longer than 30 minutes long, so it’s easy to get drawn in and end up listening to the whole series in one go.

Apps

Depop

img_1419

Last month I started listed clothes I no longer or had never even worn onto Depop to try and clear out wardrobe space and make some extra money.

Already I’ve sold one pair of trainers, and I’m looking forward to selling more items I no longer need, passing them onto those who will get joy from them.

The app is easy to use, allows you to edit photos within the app and the fees aren’t excessive.

Spending

img_1420

There are many apps out there that will help you track your spending and automatically save money for you.

But Spending for me was perfect. All I was looking for was an app that I can put in my weekly budget amount, and then quickly add what I’ve spent, on a weekly basis.

Although it has adds, and isn’t the most modern designed app, its free and easy to use, and does the basics.

What were your January favourites?  Let me know in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “January Favourites

  1. i love the way you laid out your blog post, it looks so good and organised! I need to get on the strangers things hype and I always use neutrogena skin products, so good. Tishhlah x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I’m new here! I am enjoying your blog and would love if you checked out mine.
    I haven’t posted yet, but would love some blogger friends first! (Gosh, I sound lame…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

